Skip to Content
Helping Innovators Grow Roots


Innovate Alabama Board of Directors


The Innovate Alabama Board of Directors was appointed in December 2021 to implement the initiatives and recommendations set forth in The Alabama Innovation Commission’s report, including forward-thinking policies that will create a more resilient, inclusive and robust economy to remain competitive in a 21st-century world. Innovate Alabama is led by CEO Cynthia Crutchfield and a board of 11 innovation leaders appointed by Governor Kay Ivey. It is Alabama’s first statewide public-private partnership focused on entrepreneurship, technology and innovation with a mission to help innovators grow roots.


Governor, State of Alabama

Gov. Kay Ivey

Director, Alabama Department of Finance (chair)

Bill Poole

President Pro Tempore, Alabama Senate (vice chair)

Sen. Greg Reed

House Minority Leader, Alabama House of Representatives

Rep. Anthony Daniels

Ways & Means Education Committee Chair, Alabama House of Representatives

Rep. Danny Garrett

Senate Minority Leader, Alabama Senate

Sen. Bobby Singleton

President and CEO, Protective Life Corporation

Rich Bielen

Chief Economic Development Officer and Associate Vice President for Research, University of South Alabama

Dr. Michael Chambers

President, Harper Technologies

Abe Harper

Former Group President and CEO of Dynetics and Former Director of the Marshall Space Flight Center

David King

Founder, Birmingham Bound

Britney Summerville